New deputy president, finance minister announced in major Cabinet reshuffle

ANC deputy president David Mabuza will be the next deputy president of South Africa once he is sworn in as an MP. In a televised address to the nation on Monday evening, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced major changes to Cabinet, signalling a reversal of some of former president Jacob Zuma’s most controversial Cabinet appointments.

Ramaphosa also announced that Nhlanhla Nene would be appointed as new finance minister, once he had been sworn in as an MP. Zuma fired Nene in December 2015 and replaced him with Van Rooyen, causing a stock market crash and forcing Zuma to appoint Pravin Gordhan as finance minister a few days later. In March 2017, Zuma fired Gordhan and appointed Malusi Gigaba.

Malusi Gigaba has been moved back to the ministry of home affairs where he served before his appointment to the ministry of finance.

The ministers who were sacked include Fikile Mbalula, Lynne Brown, Faith Muthambi, Hlengiwe Mkhize, Des van Rooyen, Mosebenzi Zwane and David Mahlobo.

« I wish to express my appreciation for all outgoing ministers and deputy ministers for their service to government and to the people of South Africa, » Ramaphosa said.

Ramaphosa, who appeared relaxed,  apologised for the delay in the announcement, adding that the appointments were made « conscious of the need to balance continuity and stability with the need for renewal, economic recovery and accelerated transformation ». He said he would maintain existing ministries and departments until a review « of the configuration, size and number of national ministries and departments » was completed.

The full list of changes:

  • Deputy President – DD Mabuza
  • Minister of Cooperative Governance – Zweli Mkhize
  • Minister of Finance – Nhlanhla Nene
  • Minister of Communications – Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Minister of Energy – Jeff Radebe
  • Minister of Higher education – Naledi Pandor
  • Minister of Home Affairs- Malusi Gigaba
  • Minister of Human Settlements- Nomaindia Mfeketo
  • Minister of International Relations – Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Minister of Mineral Resources – Gwede Mantashe
  • Minister of Police – Bheki Cele
  • Minister of Public Enterprises – Pravin Gordhan
  • Minister of Public service and Administration – Ayanda Dlodlo
  • Public Works – Thulas Nxesi
  • Rural Development and Land reform – Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
  • Science and Technology – Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane
  • Sports & Recreation – Tokozile Xasa
  • State security – Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • Social development – Susan Shabangu
  • Minister of monitoring, planning and evaluation in Presidency – Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • Minister of Women in the Presidency – Bathabile Dlamini
  • Tourism – Derek Hanekom
  • Transport – Blade Nzimande
  • Water and Sanitation – Gugile Nkwinti

Deputy ministers:

  • Finance – Mondli Gungubele
  • Small Business Development – Cassel Mathale
  • Public Enterprises – remains vacant
  • Monitoring and Evaluation – remains vacant
  • Agriculture, forestry and fisheries – Sfiso Buthelezi
  • Public service and administration – Chana Pilane-Majeke
  • Communications – Pinky Kekana
  • International relations and cooperation – Reginah Mhaule

Ramaphosa confirmed that all new members of the Cabinet would be sworn in in Cape Town on Tuesday.


By Franny Rabkin, Ra’eesa Pather, in Mail&Guardian, 26.02.18
© Congoindépendant 2003-2018

0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %